Today is

Neosho County Floodplain
Holly Mathews, Floodplain Manager

100 South Main Street, Suite 14, Erie, KS 66733
Telephone: 620-244-3801 | Fax 620-244-3802
Office Hours: Mon. – Fri., 8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Neosho County Floodplain Development:

Neosho County is a participating Community in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).  This program allows area residents to purchase affordable flood insurance.

The Community's floodplain management regulations, limit development allowed in Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHAs) (the area inundated by a storm that has a 1% chance of flooding in any year).  The regulations specify that all new buildings to be constructed in Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHAs) (regulated floodplains) are required to have their lowest floor elevated one foot above the base flood elevation (BFE).  The regulations also specify that substantial improvement of existing buildings or buildings that have sustained substantial damage must be brought into compliance with the requirements for new constructions in Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHAs).

A Floodplain Development permit is required from the Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Water Resources (DWR) AND the Neosho County Floodplain Management office, prior to ANY development.

Development - as defined by FEMA:
Any man-made change to improved or unimproved real estate, including but not limited to buildings or other structures, levees and levee systems, land clearing (i.e. tree removal), mining, dredging, filling, grading, paving, excavation or drilling operations or storage of equipment and materials.

Failing to comply with floodplain management regulations can put Neosho County in jeopardy of losing flood insurance, disaster assistance and Federal backed loans and grants for our citizens.

Neosho County Floodplain Management Resolution R-09-JJ

When is a Division of Water Resources (DWR) permit required?

Floodplain Development Permits-
  *Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Water Resources / Water Structure Program
   Phone: 785-564-6654
  *Neosho County Floodplain Management Office | Phone: 620-244-3801
Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Water Resources

National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)

FEMA Map Service Center

Copyright 2007-2017 Neosho County Online. All Rights Reserved.
CONTACT Neosho County